February Papertrey Ink Blog Hop

This month’s Papertrey Blog Hop theme is interactive cards.  There are all kinds of interactive cards but the one I was the most impressed with was the poppers, especially Maile’s ones with the clouds, balloons, and butterflies.  She makes everything looks so beautiful but simple.  But my attempt was not simple!  It doesn’t help that I didn’t have the new popper spiral die so I needed to cut out a spiral.  I tried a trick of using attached circle dies to try to get consistent thickness on the spiral.  It worked okay but it made the spiral off-center.  This is a good way to convince yourself that getting the die is worth it because when you have the die, everything looks like someone knew what they were doing when they did it.  Oh, well….we will call this one an experiment.

When I was thinking of what I should use for the theme of my card the spiral reminded my a of string of Christmas lights.  However, the beautiful part about Maile’s card is that the images (butterflies, balloons, and clouds) are the focus, not the spiral.  When you are using Christmas lights….the spiral becomes the focus…so all of those imperfections like an off-center spiral alignment, etc. really show up.   I wouldn’t do this again…but since I spent all that time cutting out all of those lights I was at least going to get a blog post out of it.  I have no pride when it comes to blogging….I will happily share my blunders.  As I learn and share I hope to save you from my mistakes.  My first mistake was thinking I didn’t need this die…what was I thinking?

I used the Tree Trimming Trio die to cut out a Christmas tree.  I ended up using some SU paper since my Pinefeather cardstock is coming in my release order.  I used the woodgrain IP to give the tree some texture.  Overall…not going on my next year’s top ten or top 100 but it was a good adventure in learning what not to do.  Promise my next interactive card will be better or I won’t post it.

Hope you are having a blissful day!  Thanks for stopping by….

Supplies:

  • Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (PTI); Handsome Hunter (SU)
  • Ink: Black Onyx (Versafine); Pure Poppy (PTI); Cottage Ivy and Danube Blue (Memento)
  • Stamps:   Holiday Lights (PTI)
  • Accessories:  Circle Dies (Spellbinders); Woodgrain Impression Plate (PTI); Tree Trimming Trio die (PTI)
19 responses to “February Papertrey Ink Blog Hop

  1. Kristie, you crack me up! I so enjoy reading your blog posts because I feel like we are having a dialogue about our crafting pursuits (ok, maybe a one-sided dialogue, but you probably know what I mean!). I think your card is cool, and I like the interactive concept of stringing the lights on the tree!

  2. Great idea to add the Christmas lights to the spiral!

  3. How very creative! Great job!

  4. How cute is that? So much fun!

  5. Great use for the lights! You win for earliest holiday card!!

  6. This is just way to cute. Love your creative idea.

  7. Too cute! great idea with the lights.

  8. Yay, its Christmas in February 🙂 Love this idea! It really looks fabulous 🙂

  9. Cute card. Nice suprise for the recipient.

  10. Wow, this is amazing. I could not adhere all those lights, but you did an awesome job!

  11. This is a wonderful christmas card. I love love the idea of lights on the spiral bit. Great idea! Love it 🙂

  12. Oh wow, what a fun idea! Love the lights on the spiral 🙂

  13. Great idea!! You have a good start on next season’s holiday cards!

  14. Well done, very cute card and so creative.I love it.

  15. Gorgeous card. love this design.

  16. How fun is this? Floating lights, super idea. Way to rock out the PTI blog challenge.

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.

  17. What a fun card!!! Love that you used a Christmas theme!!

Leave a Reply

