Painful

Now that I have your attention…this card was downright painful.  The Waltzingmouse Sketch this week was a tough one for me.  I wanted to keep it more simple but the sketch has lots of layers.  Take a look at the Waltzingmouse Sketch challenge this week…a great opportunity to win prizes! 

Boy did I have a hard time pulling this sketch together.  Maybe I’m rusty after the long crafting break.  Maybe I was searching for perfection a little too hard.   Maybe I was frozen with fear toward the end that I would make some stupid blunder (like drop an inked stamp on an almost finished card, never done that before).  But I spent the last two evenings and this morning fussing on this card.  And do you know what took the longest….bet you can’t guess.  Those stinking ribbons.  I fiddled with those for an hour last night and again this morning.  It works so much better when you don’t think too hard I guess.   Okay….to the card….

I love Dainty Doilies 2 for snowflakes….they are some of the prettiest doily stamps I’ve seen!  I initially tried the house from A Cottage Christmas stamp set but it just seemed to busy to me with the snowflake background.  Those folks who can layer and make it all seem cohesive at the same time are amazing….it’s just a skill I don’t have.  I knew I wanted a snow bank for one of the layers and ribbon for the second.  I wanted to pick up the colors of the trees and the snowman’s scarf in the ribbon.  But red and green looked to strong so I needed 3 ribbons.  I fussed and fussed on the layout of the ribbons.  I am showing you both the final card and the look of the card right before I tweaked the ribbons one last time.  Which one do you like better? 

Okay…it’s done and I’m not going to think about it anymore.   I am beginning to sound a little obsessive at this point.  I have a sunny day to go enjoy!

Hope you are having a blissful day! Thanks for stopping by….

Supplies:

  • Cardstock: Kraft (Papertrey); White Cardstock (Georgia Pacific)
  • Ink: Rich Cocoa (Memento); Fresh Snow and Tea Dye Duo (Papertrey)
  • Stamps: A Cottage Christmas, Dainty Doilies 2, and Teeny Trees (Waltzingmouse); Framed Out #3 (Papertrey)
  • Accessories: Scor-Tape adhesive sheets; In The Meadow die and Framed Out #3 die (Papertrey); Diamond glitter (A Muse Studio); Copics; Grossgrain ribbon
6 responses to “Painful

  1. I think your fussing with this card as worth it! It’s really cute!

  2. Ok the ribbon was a hassle – but gosh look at the end result! I love it! The snowy scene you created is beautiful!

  3. Love the ribbons in the firs one, a bit shorter. Well,l all your hard work paid off because this is just so adorable! Love the scene you have created. Love the trees , have to check out that stamp.

  4. So adorable! Love your Winter Wonderland scene! Thanks so much for joining along with the WMSC 🙂

  5. This is SUCH a happy winter scene! Almost makes me wish for snow….okay, that might be a fib 🙂 Love the sweet doily snowflakes and the festive layered ribbons! Oh, and the glittering snowbank! Happy 100th sketch, Kristie! Always so happy when you get to play along at the WMSC :)!!

  6. Eeep! This is sooo adorable!!! What a great holiday card! Thanks for playing with us on our 100th sketch!

Leave a Reply

