102th Waltzingmouse Sketch and CAS-ual Fridays #57 Challenges

This card is for both the  102th Waltzingmouse Sketch Challenge and CAS-ual Fridays 57 Challenge .  The CAS-ual Friday Challenge is to use vellum or acetate.  The Waltzingmouse sketch challenge is based on the sketch below.  

 

This card was tough because the sketch had me stumped and then after I figured how I was going to layout the card I had a heck of a time with the acetate sentiment frame.  I think I hate acetate after the experience.  I much prefer vellum.  But there are some instances when only acetate will do, this card for example.  So I can say my skills using acetate (especially using it for a sentiment) have greatly improved.  I have a trash bin full of discarded acetate banners as I was developing my new skills. 

This was the first time using this die and I really like the different things you can do with it.  Last thing before I will say before I finish this post is that it’s rare that I have a card all laid out when I start.  Even when I have a sketch it seems like I spend lots of time trying this paper or that, this image or that, and this embellishment or that.  This is one of those cards that I had no idea where I would end up when I started other than a sketch.   I wasn’t even planning on the acetate until I figured out that any other type of background for the sentiment really blocked the focal image….so I ended up using acetate and was able to submit this for another challenge.  It all worked out well in the end even if I couldn’t tell that at the start or 3/4’s of way through.  Card details are at the bottom of the post.

 Hope you are having a blissful day! Thanks for stopping by….

Supplies:

  • Cardstock: Enchanted Evening (Papertrey)
  • Patterned Paper: Blue sheet, Brights Glitzy Glitter Stack (Die Cuts With A View)
  • Ink: Versamark
  • Stamps:  Say It Loud Winter Holiday (Waltzingmouse)
  • Accessories: White Embossing Powder (Superior) ; LR0185 die (Marianne Designs)
12 responses to “102th Waltzingmouse Sketch and CAS-ual Fridays #57 Challenges

  1. Love your fancy snowflake!

  2. Pretty card. I do like your die. In total agreement about the time it takes to put a card together

  3. You are on a roll, Kristie! This is beautiful! Love the way that die looks in the shades of blue…and that acetate banner idea is brilliant (even if it did take a trash bin full of tries, the recipient will never know ;))!

  4. Beautiful design!! Love the acetate with the snowflake design! So glad that you join the fun with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  5. LOVE LOVE LOVE the snowflake and how much do I ADORE Enchanted Evening 🙂 I love that you did not over do the card and let the snowflake be the star of the show~

  6. Well, the acetate sentiment looks lovely over the shimmery blue die cut showflake Kristie! so despite your issues you were quite successful! thanks for playing with the WMS sketch this week!

  7. Wow, this is a stunner, Kristie. Love that you used acetate for your sentiment. BTW…you and I have similar creative procedures…I rarely know where I’m going until I get there…LOL

  8. Love the die and you did fabulously with the acetate!

  9. You’re right, Kristie, this die is lovely…what a very pretty card!! Thanks so much for being a part of the challenge this week at CAS-ual Fridays and sharing your creation with us:)!!

  10. I love this simply nature of this, super sweet! Thanks for playing along with the Mischief Makers this week!

  11. Wow! This is so pretty! I love that you stamped the sentiment on the acetate – it’s PERFECT! Thanks so much for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays! We’re so glad you did!

  12. Oh wow! I love this! It’s clean and crisp! That snowflake is so intricate and perfect! Fantastic take on the sketch! So glad you could play! 🙂

Leave a Reply

