Z Becky Brown and CardMaker Blog Hop

GetAttachment 2

Today I have a creation that I’m so excited about!  CardMaker asked the blog team members to create an insert for Z Becky Brown handbags.   The inserts go into the Z Becky Brown handbags to create of one-of-a-kind bag.  Z Becky Brown sells several different styles of handbag lids, handles, hardware, prepared inserts and blank inserts.   I won’t comment on how long it took me to decide which handle, hardware, lid color, and prepared insert I wanted.   But the best part is that you can also select blank inserts that can be used to create your own one-of-a-kind insert.  You can use the inserts as a template for your favorite pattern paper. You know, those papers that we hoard and save because they are too pretty to actually use on a project.  Now we can walk around and show them off.  Yep…one excited gal here thinking about the possibilities. They are currently running their spring sale with a 25 percent discount!  Click on the image below to link back to their website.  They are also having a giveaway on their website so follow the links of the blog hop back to their website for the giveaway info!  Winners will be announced March 7th.

GetAttachment

Okay….so when I sat down to decide how I was going to decorate my handbag I was stuck between the dilemma of using some of my favorite pattern paper or doing a scrapbook type of insert.  Now I’m not a scrapbooker…I get intimidated by the size of the projects and can’t be satisfied by just focusing on the page in front of me.  I have a few projects that only have 2 or 4 pages done before I quit.  But doing a scrapbook style insert won out.  I loved the idea of carrying my boys around with me.  I’ve got youngish ones so they are still thrilled at the idea that mom made a handbag with them on it.  And it also is a good reminder of how much I love them when I’m about ready to kill them for being a pain while I’m shopping with them.

So I started off with the black Ziva cardstock insert.  The insert is already prepared so no additional cutting is necessary.  I printed out some of my recent photos of my boys. Luckily they both like wearing red so it was easy to coordinate colors for all of the photos that I was going to use on the insert.  I decided to keep the background plain and  accents very simple since I wanted the photos to stand out.  I cut banners from red cardstock and herringbone pattern paper.  I used postbox red ink spray to dye the pattern paper.  I added thickers to give my insert a theme “My Miracles”.   Like I said….there are days when I’m shopping with them that I might need a reminder.

Here is a view of the prepared inserts.  The top one sits around the sides and front of the handbag.  The bottom insert fits along the back of the handbag.  Then there is a felt insert that sits over the cardstock insert to make sure that the cardstock insert doesn’t get damaged by things in your handbag.

P1060960

Here is a view of the completed handbag with my scrapbook style insert and a view of the handbag using one of the prepared inserts sold by Z Becky Brown.  I selected the insert that is reversible so I can use either the red  mock-crock or black hounds tooth.  I’m showing it with the red mock-crock insert.

P1060966

P1060968

P1060970

P1060963

Melyssa Connally is next on the CardMaker / Z Becky Brown blog hop.  But if you have any problems with the link, you can always click here to go back to CardMaker’s blog hop page for all of the team’s links.    Happy blog hopping!

Supplies:

  • Cardstock: Black Eclipse (Ziva from Z Becky Brown); Real Red (Stampin Up)
  • Pattern Paper: Herringbone Artisan Papers (Pink Paislee)
  • Accessories: Postbox Red Dylusions Ink Spray (Ranger), White Maple Thickers (American Crafts)
19 responses to “Z Becky Brown and CardMaker Blog Hop

  1. I LOVE this – the photos – the colors, the pennants! Great job!

  2. Oops – the link to Melyssa is wrong – here’s the right one http://fantastink.blogspot.com/

  3. Lovely creation! Your kids are the center of this beautiful creation.

  4. Barbara Hawkins

    Wow Kristie! I love how you have used your bag like a giant photo cube.

  5. Barbara Hawkins

    Wow! Best blog hop ever. This is the 1st time I have heard of Z Becky Brown & I am so impressed. After a massive overspend I promised no more spending on craft for at least two months. However, these are handbags, so I guess that’s okay 😉 Barbara x

  6. How sweet to be able to carry your boys around with you.

  7. How adorable! I love the photos and those banners are just darling!

  8. What a wonderful way to show off those boys I’m sure we all like to do that we wouldn’t be mother if we didn’t great bag

  9. The pictures are adorable. I love how you personalized the bag.

  10. The pictures on your bag are so cute. I love how you personalized the bag.

  11. what a great creation! i love the photos!

  12. Oh my gosh!! What lovely boys!! How wonderful to be able to carry them with you wherever you go with this amazing bag you designed!! Great job!! TFS!

  13. Pingback: Z Becky Brown & CardMaker Blog Hop | CardMaker Blog

  14. A great way to show off the kids pictures without having to pull out a wallet or album. Love it.

  15. Cindy Barrett

    I Love your choices for the Bag. And your Boys are very handsome!

  16. diane scotford

    great creation lovely boys now you can take them everywhere x

  17. So sweet! Love the pictures of those boys!

  18. WOW for being intimidated by big scrapbooking projects you grabed the bull by the horns and did a Tremendous job on you bag. It is fantastic and I like it -what a way to brag about someone you love. Thank you so much for doing this -con.

  19. Hi my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and come with almost all important infos.
    I would like to look extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

