My 2015 Favorites

I decided to do a blog post summarizing my favorites from 2015. I am including my 5 favorite products, my 5 favorite blogs, and my 5 favorite cards.  I’ll try to keep this short and sweet but can’t guarantee that it will work out that way.  You might want to get a cup of something to drink before you start.

My Favorite Products that I used in 2015:

Fun Foam:  This is a surprise favorite. I’m with Jennifer McGuire, this stuff is wonderful and I highly recommend it.  You can use it to create dimension on a card.  I used to use dimensional tape but like how solid the card feels when using the fun foam.  It’s easy to hand or die cut.  It works well for die cutting sentiments.  For the holidays, I’ve been loving the glitter foam and have been going through it like made.  I haven’t tried using the adhesive backed kind but will admit adding adhesive to the foam can be a pain.  I will be trying that next after having fun adhering my foam die cuts.

Neenah Solar Crest 110 lb cardstock:  I typically use Papertrey’s Stamper’s Select White for my cardstock bases but am loving the Neenah Solar Crest cardstock that I tried after Jennifer McGuire’s recommendation.   It’s slightly thicker than Papertrey’s white cardstock.  It’s going to run you a bit more than Papertrey’s cardstock though.  Just a heads up that I also use Georgia Pacific’s 110 lb white cardstock for top layers of cards or tags.  It’s cheap, it colors well when using Copics.  I will often play with some of my designs using this cardstock so I don’t waste my better stuff.  It’s also much easier to fussy cut images out of the Georgia Pacific cardstock too.

Simon Says Stamp / Hero Arts Inks:  I am loving my Simon Says Stamps and Hero Arts inks.  They give great coverage on solid stamps and seem to have pretty clean edges.  I like my Papertrey inks too but in my opinion, they don’t cover as well as the SSS/HA inks.

Papertrey Cardstock:  I love Papertrey’s cardstock.  It’s heavy weight, has great colors, and can buy it in various package sizes.  It’s by far my favorite cardstock and I have been trying several other brands.  Now to get to the nitty-gritty….I love my smokey shadow and soft stones best.  They make such great card bases, as you can see by how often I use it.

Foil Cardstock: Yes, I am joining the foil bandwagon.  I love the look of it on cards and since I didn’t get my Minc until right after Thanksgiving, I’ve been using foil cardstock to get a similar look to the Minc.  I would recommend playing with foil cardstock.  It often gets overlooked now that the Minc machine is the shiny new toy but foil cardstock works great in die cuts.  Bazzil, Recollections, Stampin Up, Papertrey all have foil cardstock.  I’ve used Recollections the most.

My favorite blogs in 2015:  I often chill out after the boys go to sleep by looking at all the wonderful cards that are being made out there daily.  Here is my list of the ones I consistently check out.

Jennifer McGuire: Jennifer is a great gift to the paper crafting community.  She is so willing to share her knowledge and love of card making.  She is an enthusiastic community supporter and advocates for using our crafts to make the world a better place.  I can’t recommend her blog strongly enough, but likely you’ve been hiding under a rock if you didn’t already know that.  I am putting Jennifer’s blog in the category of betterment.  I read her blog to become a better crafter and a kinder human being.

Debby Hughes:  I think it is always to know what is your natural style when it comes to card making.  As my card making skills improve, I hope that my cards have more of the style, character, balance, and interest that Debby’s cards have.  Her cards always have just the right amount of stuff….she knows when to stop or when to keep going on a card.  That is a gift.  Her blogs always do a great job describing how she created the lovely card.

Susan Raihala: Every time I read Susan’s blog, I feel like I’ve sat down and had a cup of tea with her.  I love how she shares her life with us in her blog along with her crafting thoughts.  She keeps it real, my type of gal.  And since life is never just about crafting, it makes me feel connected to her through the joy of motherhood.  Gotta love raising 2 boys….it can be a challenge (just deleted the part about torture). Anyway, Susan has a beautiful CAS style and is generous with her thoughts about crafting and life.

Amy Sheffer: Amy has a beautiful style to her cards.  One of the things I appreciate the most when reading her blog is that she is able to make beautiful cards regardless of which stamp company she’s using.  I get see a beautiful range of stamp styles in her cards since she works for several stamp companies including Papertrey, Reverse Confetti, and Taylored Expressions.

Kay Miller:  Kay is another blogger who works for several stamp companies including My Favorite Things, Papertrey, Reverse Confetti, Paper Smooches, and Penny Black.  She has a clean style with beautiful pops of color.   Her color choices are always inspiring.

My Favorite Cards for 2015:  I’m including small photos of each card and a link below to the original post.  I’m also including my thoughts on why it’s a favorite.

P1090056

  1. I just love his cute red nose and clean and simple layout….and of course that it includes a glittered reindeer doesn’t hurt.

Happy 50th Anniversary

2. I love the elegance of this one.  It elegant look seemed suitable for a momentous occasion of my parent’s 50th wedding anniversary.

P1080962

3.  I like the clean and simple layout and the pop of color.

P1090493

4. Love the color combo for this card.  It was a simple layout using my favorite Christmas/Winter subject….snowflakes.

P1070420

5.  Can a card make you happy partly because it uses something that you have an overabundance of?  I have Washi tape coming out of my ears and loved that it worked well on this Halloween card.

Hope you made it to the end! Have a wonderful start to 2016!  If you have any questions about anything I’ve mentioned, please leave me a comment and I will respond.

6 responses to “My 2015 Favorites

  1. Thanks for taking the time to post this! I follow the same blogs as you with the exception of Susan, I’ll have to take a look at it. The cards you picked are lovely.

  2. Beautiful cards Kris! TFS!

  3. What a wonderful post! I love your suggestions and all of your wonderful cards!

  4. Victoria Nelson

    Great post! I love the idea of 5 products, 5 blogs and 5 cards!

  5. Love your post! One other blogger who makes exceptional cards is Julee Tilman from Verve Stamps. Here blog is called http://poeticartistry.blogspot.ca/

  6. Pingback: Favorites of 2016 | My Bliss

Leave a Reply

