Curtain Call Challenge and Simon Says Stamp’s Wednesday Challenge

The current Curtain Call Challenge is a rainbow theme and  Simon Says Stamp’s Wednesday Challenge is to create a rain or shine card.  I combined the two challenges and made this card.

I’m on vacation this week and away from most of my supplies but I’m spending my time making cards with what I brought along.  However a rainbow stamp was not in the mix.  And to tell you the truth, I think I only own 1 small rainbow stamp that was part of a set. I’m just not a rainbow person.  Couldn’t tell you why but they are in the category of owls and feathers….I tend not to take a liking to stamp that have those images.  So I was more than a little stumped this afternoon and wasted a few card fronts trying to wing a rainbow.   Who knew winging it when making a rainbow tends to look like crap.  I tried my watercolors, my zig markers and nada.  Just an awful mess.  So I ended up cutting a stencil with my circle die set and sponging the various colors.  Not my favorite card but it was a good exercise on making things work with limited supplies.  I added some wink of Stella to jazz it up a bit.  Supplies are listed below.  Happy crafting!

20160322_155411

Supplies:

  • Cardstock: White and smokey shadow (Papertrey)
  • Ink: Royal Velvet, Blueberry Sky, New Leaf, Bright Buttercup, Orange Zest, Pure Poppy (Papertrey)
  • Stamps: So Striking (Papertrey)
  • Accessories: clear embossing powder, wink of Stella
2 responses to “Curtain Call Challenge and Simon Says Stamp’s Wednesday Challenge

  1. Oh, what a gorgeous rainbow! This is so cool! Great take on the inspiration photo!

  2. What a sweet card. Love the rainbow with the heat embossed clouds. The vellum strip looks great with the greeting. Thank you for playing along with us at the Curtain Call Inspiration Challenge.

Leave a Reply

