Papertrey Ink’s March Blog Hop

I struggled with the inspiration photos for this month’s Papertrey Blog Hop.  The photos were lovely but I’m not a big stitching person.  Couldn’t figure how to get that look with the stamps I brought with me on vacation.  The closest look was using Papertrey’s Tulip Time with the nice lines in the tulip flowers that look a bit like embroidery.  The biggest visual impact from the inspiration photos for me was how the color popped from the gray background.  I used neon inks to get that pop of color.  I opted to use soft stone for the gray background since I didn’t want to try heat embossing on the 3 layered tulip flowers.  I was worried that the last layer of heat embossing would cause the earlier layers to bubble and goof up the sheen.  I also sponged soft stone around the edge of the card so darken up the gray background. Hope you are enjoying the blog hop.  There are some lovely cards!

20160325_110151

Supplies:

  • Cardstock: Raspberry Fizz and Soft Stone (Papertrey)
  • Stamps: Tulip Time (Papertrey)
  • Ink: New Leaf (Papertrey); Neon Pink, Neon Red, Pale Tomato (Hero Arts)
8 responses to “Papertrey Ink’s March Blog Hop

  1. You can never go wrong with this set!! Beautiful card : )

    Patti

  2. You can’t go wrong with that tulip set…lovely, lovely card!! :0)

  3. Beautiful stamped tulips! Happy Easter!

  4. Oh these are gorgeous tulips, Kristie! Love the look you achieved with the neon inks on the soft stone!

  5. Ah, that tulip set…I love it soooo much (and need to get it!!!) This is a beautiful card.

  6. Very cool use of color & technique to get the stitched look – love the tulips!

Leave a Reply

