Favorites of 2016

I’m a bit late to do a favorites of 2016 but I like the feeling of closing the door on 2016 and starting fresh on 2017 and haven’t had the urge to do it until now.  Guess it goes with finally getting the holiday stuff put away today.  So let’s start with my favorite cards from this year and I’m only going to pick my top 3.  I’ve linked back to the original blog post if you want to see more card details.   This year was a quieter crafting year since I coached 2 soccer teams this fall and then started back to work full-time in November.  Luckily I had some time off during the holidays to recoup and get some crafting time in.  Hopefully I can carve out a bit more crafting time in 2017!

P1070332

I love the clean and simple look and how butterfly pops off the card.  Here’s the blog post link

20160625_135042

Love the ombre background with some of my favorite colors!  Here’s the blog link.

p1080721-2

And my last pick, another clean and simple look with lots of shine!  Here’s the link.

For my favorite products, I haven’t changed my opinion about my favorites from last year and would only add the following list to my favorites that I discussed here at the end of 2015:

Misti by Sweet Petunia.  What a  great crafting tool.  You can use it to darken your image by repeatedly stamping with the same ink.  You can give shading to a solid image by applying darker inks to portions of the image.  You can line up your image perfectly before stamping so you don’t have to cover it with a banner or die cut.  It helps to make sure you layered stamp images line up correctly.  It’s amazing!

Recollections 110 pound heavy cardstock.  I have lots of cardstock but have been very impressed since my sweet friend Victoria encouraged me to try Michael’s brand Recollections 110 pound heavy cardstock for card bases.  It’s really heavy weight, heavier than Papertrey Stamper’s Select cardstock.  It allows me to save more pricier, higher quality cardstock for card fronts.  And when you can pick up a bundle of paper at 50%…you’re a happy crafter.

Nuvo products.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the Nuvo products.  When you’ve been crafting as long as I have you are hard to convince that you need to try the newest thing.  I have baskets and baskets of the newest things sitting on my shelves in my craft room.  But I’ve been really happy with the crystal drops and the embossing paste.  The drops are different from anything else out there and allow you to add droplets of color to a card or cover an image in shiny magic.  The glimmer paste is beautiful….shimmery and easy to apply.  I also have some of the silver foil and 1 embossing powder.  The embossing powder seems to be equivalent to what I have for Zing powders and the foil can be beautiful but can be difficult to apply depending on the solid glue surface that you’re applying it to.  I tried it on a more detailed image and it didn’t work very well, but it rocks on solid images.

Ok…there you have it.  My quick thoughts about 2016.  Can’t wait to see what 2017 brings to the crafting world!

 

Leave a Reply

