Simon Says Stamp’s Monday Challenge – Young at Heart and Curtain Call: XOXO

I knew exactly what I wanted to make for this week’s Simon Says Stamp’s Monday Challenge – Young at Heart and Curtain Call Challenge: XOXO.  I bought this die thinking that I would use it to make my boys Valentine’s cards.  My boys are 8 and 9 and they LOVE Minecraft (computer and video game).  The shape of the die makes the perfect pixelated heart. And if you’ve never seen Minecraft….it has old style block style of graphics.  Neat and Tangled pixelated heart die is perfect for this!  And the coolest thing is that it makes a die cut that allows you to create a heart that pops up from the inside of the card.  Can you tell I’m excited about this card.  I need to make another one so each boy has a card but I wanted to post this one.  The color choices of green and pink are a bit strange but I picked up the pink from the inspiration photo and needed green to match the Minecraft background.  The Minecraft terrain has this kind of blocky green background that I tried to imitate.   The card supplies are listed below.  Happy blog hopping!

15965881_10211702997559227_6057557714699487780_n

20160613_011742

20160613_011837

Supplies:

  • Cardstock: Pink Pirouette (Stampin Up); New Leaf (Papertrey); White (Georgia Pacific)
  • Ink: Onyx Black (Versafine)
  • Stamps:  Crazy Talk (Tim Holtz); Tremendous Treats: Valentine (Papertrey)
  • Dies:  Pixelated Heart (Neat & Tangled)
  • Accessories: YG06, YG11, YG17 (Copics); Clear embossing powder (Stampendous)
4 responses to “Simon Says Stamp’s Monday Challenge – Young at Heart and Curtain Call: XOXO

  1. Love it! I haven’t tried a pop-up card before. Now I think I must! Thank you for sharing!

  2. It was pretty easy to do but you can’t rush it since you have to gently push to get the paper to bend at the newly embossed score lines. It definitely has a fun feel to it when added to the card since it pops up. There are some great videos that show you how….that’s what I used and this was the first card I made with it. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Absolutely fabulous and original! love your card! thanks for joining us this week on Simon says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! barbara

Leave a Reply

