PTI August Blog Hop Challenge and Embellish Magazine Color Trends Challenge

PTI is having their monthly blog hop and we are supposed to use the following photo for inspiration.

I fell in love with the picnic box lining.  I remember Dawn McVey using the scroll from Vintage Labels to make this great background.  I created the background with that and then made it pretty simple buying adding a few blooms from the YOF Mums set.  I decided as I was working on this card that I wanted a soft feel for it since I’m going to be sending it to my aunt who recently lost her father.  I love this sentiment in particular from Big and Bold Wishes….it’s not as somber as With Sympathy and conveys exactly what I want to say.  The photo is uplifting and I hope this card is too.

It turns out that the colors and photo theme are relatively similar for Embellish Magazine Color Trends Challenge.  The colors are the same, and the vintage label background mirrors the nice lines in the ironwork below.  I tried a stronger red color but because of the number of flowers in the card, it seemed to overwhelm the card.  The softer berry sorbet color seems to work a little better.

So I worked on this card last night and thought I had it all done but then looked at it and decided I needed to do copic coloring and add the simply chartreuse leaves.  I’ve attached a photo without the leaves and I think the addition adds depth, interest and balance.  Sometimes leaving a card and coming back to it really helps.

The card supplies are at the bottom of this post.  If you have any questions, please email me or leave me a comment.  Cheers!

Supplies:

  • Cardstock:  Rustic Cream, Berry Sorbet, and Simply Chartreuse (PTI)
  • Ink:  Antique Linen (Ranger); French Roast (A Muse|Studio)
  • Stamps:  Year of Flowers: Mums, Big and Bold Wishes, and Vintage Labels (PTI)
  • Accessories:  Clear embossing powder, foam adhesive, and copics

21 responses to “PTI August Blog Hop Challenge and Embellish Magazine Color Trends Challenge

  1. Love this beautiful card. I’m sure your Aunt will be touched to receive it. I love the way you created the background, and those mums are just gorgeous. I love the sentiment – makes me want to break out my Big & Bold set! I think the leaves are the perfect touch. 😉 Very, very pretty!

  2. Ummmm…..WOW! Great card! I really love the background. Actually I love everything about it. Stunning.

  3. Beautiful, I do like the balance the leaves add to the bright flowers.

  4. I totally agree with the “leaving” and coming back to a card theory — especially when you have the time to do that! Being very last-minute with my cards, sometimes that’s not possible! Sigh! You were so correct in what you did by adding the leaves — just added so much — GORGEOUS card!!! LOVE it!!!

  5. This is a really lovely card with few elements that all work together perfectly.

  6. Oh my goodness could this be any prettier!!! Love the way you’ve captured the suitcase interior and the lovely pink flowers!!!

  7. Beautiful. Love the background, layers and colors.

  8. Wow, this is amazing and I love every thing about your card.

  9. Gorgeous..I love the background on this is gorgeous against the big, beautiful flowers.

  10. You’re right, it’s definitely better with the leaves, and this is one stunning card! I love the stamped background and those beautiful flowers!

  11. Beautiful and I agree…the leaves are perfect.

  12. This is a beautiful card. Love the background. The color of the flowers is gorgeous. You are right about the leaves. They do add some nice dimension to the card.

  13. OOOH! This is so lovely. The hand cut flowers are so amazing!

  14. Very pretty card!

  15. Gorgeous!! I love the background and those mums are beautiful!

  16. That’s the best background design I have seen! Great job on a beautiful card.

  17. Oh, wow! I love the way that the flowers fall off the page. And that neat background…what an inspiration!

  18. Gorgeous. Perfect for the photo, and so glad you played along with us at Embellish!

  19. Pingback: My Top Nine Cards for 2011 | My Bliss

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.