Papercraft Reject

Hope everyone’s week is starting out well.  Mine is great…I am enjoying the MLK holiday with the kids.  I have some fun projects for them this afternoon after they get bored and need some entertainment.  I got on a kick of using acrylic paint after submitting some projects for the last Papercraft Magazine submission call and got them some fun things to paint.  They’ve got magnets, wood plates, and some figurines to paint.  The magnets and figurines were on clearance at Michaels so were super cheap.  My 2 cuties love to paint so it should be an entertaining afternoon.

Okay back to why you are here.  I sent in several cards using acrylic paint and I wanted to post one of the rejects.  I may rework a few of them and resubmit so I’m going to hold on to some of them.  I also am going to post another reject later this week.  It’s great to get some new cards up on my blog since it’s been awhile.

I loved playing with the acrylic paint.  I used Martha Stewart’s pearl acrylic paint.  Loved the colors she has out.  Gorgeous!  I tried a couple of ways to apply the paint.  If you want a heavy, thick paint look then laying out a layer of paint on a plate and pressing the stamp into the pool of paint works the best.  But if you want more of an inked look then the best way is to sponge on the pain.  The in-between method is to brush the paint on to the stamp.  For the card below I painted it onto the stamp.  Unfortunately it meant that there was too much paint in the center of the bigger flower.  I tried to hide it by putting pearls over it.   It is a pretty simple card since I was trying to emphasize the painted flowers.  The card details are at the bottom.  Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks for stopping by….

Supplies:

  • Cardstock:  Vanilla (A Muse)
  • Ink: Aquarium Pearl Paint (Martha Stewart); Breeze (Close To My Heart)
  • Stamps:  Year of Flowers:  Mums (Papertrey); Think Big Favorites #4 (Papertrey)
  • Accessories:  Bermuda Pearls (A Muse); Corner Chomper; Dimensionals

4 responses to “Papercraft Reject

  1. Pretty card – I have never thought of using acrylic paints with stamps. Sounds like fun – I will give it a try

  2. A very pretty CAS card. Love your bling.

  3. Victoria Nelson

    I think this is beautiful. You’re really making me think I want to get some of those MS pearl paints!

  4. I love your card, I saw it on Splitcoaststampers. I wouldn’t have seen it had it not been rejected because I stopped getting Papercraft. I just didn’t find very many cards in the mag that I liked.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.